So, I decided to give MyPaint a try.

I first encountered MyPaint through a mention of it in passing, around Subeta’s art contest boards. For an open-source graphics application, it does look rather promising. However, I won’t really be able to make the most use out of it, as my tablet has been broken for a few months, and I can’t afford to buy a replacement.

Oh, you can also use in on a Linux-powered setup, too!

Figure 1. Interface of MyPaint 1.0.0 on Windows 8 Pro.

Figure 1. Interface of MyPaint 1.0.0 on Windows 8 Pro.

Very clean and minimalistic, yes? That’s the experience you get from MyPaint, and as they stated in their website, the program was designed to provide a working space with minimal distractions. The experience I get from using the preset brushes is similar to using my custom brush textures in PaintTool SAI, albeit with a less “exact” manner of altering brush radius. I definitely miss seeing the pixel value of the radius, among other things. I suppose I’ll get used to MyPaint after a while.

I can definitely say, however, that it will be something I’ll use more for “painterly” work, opposed to vector graphics (which I don’t think it can make,) or celshaded work.

Figure 2. A screenshot of MyPaint, using various brushes from the preset Set #2.

Figure 2. A screenshot of MyPaint, using various brushes from the preset Set #2.

Above, you can find a work in progress I’ve made solely using MyPaint and my laptop’s touchpad. It’s art of one of my characters, Li Shin-ya. Perhaps I’ll try to continue this when I have time, but I’m done with tinkering around with this program for today. Now, to find a way to redownload Photoshop here, so I can open my PSD for a website layout.

Leave a Reply

