Carol Banawa – Bakit ‘Di Totohanin

Heh, I miss Carol Banawa and her songs so much. It’s fairly common for me to like very sappy and fluffy songs if I sufficiently like the melody, or the voice of the singer, but I figure that isn’t a secret by now.

I’ll just go ahead and post the lyrics to one of my favourite songs of hers, apart from “Iingatan Ka”. The song isn’t even applicable to me, but I love to sing it, for some reason.

-Tagalog- (If I’ve made some mistakes in transcription, feel free to inform me of such! I’m not very confident that the contractions/apostrophes are in the correct places! xD)

‘Pag ako’y binibiro mo,
Ang lahat ng ‘yan sa aki’y totoo,
Mga titig mo ay tumutunaw sa puso ko.

‘Pag ako’y nasa tabi mo ay kay lakas ng kaba sa dibdib ko,
Ang hiling ko lang, sana’y malaman,
Na ang puso ko’y sawa na sa biruan.

✖ Bakit di na lang totohanin ang lahat?
Ang kailangan ko’y paglingap,
Dahil habang tumatagal ay lalo ko’ng natututunang magmahal,
Baka masaktan lang.

‘Pag ako’y nasa tabi mo ay kay lakas ng kaba sa dibdib ko,
Ang hiling ko lang, sana’y malaman,
Na ang puso ko’y sawa na sa biruan.

(Repeat ✖)

Umaasa sa yo ang puso’t damdamin
Pangarap ko ay mapansin…

(Repeat ✖ twice)

Translation to English:

(If you have a better translation in mind/any corrections, feel free to inform me of such! Tagalog isn’t my first language either, so my interpretation may be too literal/awkward.)

Whenever you tease me,
All of that is true for me,
Your stares melt my heart.

Whenever I’m beside you, the anxiety in my heart is strong,
My only wish is (you’d) know,
That my heart is tired of this bickering.

✖ Why can’t this be true,
I need (protective) care,
Because as time goes on, I learn even more to love,
(I) might just get hurt.

Whenever I’m beside you, the anxiety in my heart is strong,
My only wish is (you’d) know,
That my heart is tired of this bickering.

(Repeat ✖)

(My) heart and emotion yearn for you,
I wish to be noticed (by you)…

(Repeat ✖ twice)

Leave a Reply

