Não Vou Fugir – Ive Mendes

Though I’ve had a long-standing love for bossa nova and smooth jazz from Brasil, I was not familiar with Ive Mendes (touted as “The Brazilian Sade” — I personally think she has her own sound which I prefer to Sade, though) until I heard DJ Marky’s remix of her song, “Não Vou Fugir”.

I love both versions, but the video I posted above is for the acidjazz original — her voice is very calming, and you can appreciate the song a bit more with this tempo.

I was able to figure out some of the English lyrics on my own, from the vague intelligibility between Spanish and Portuguese. I found Scott LaFramenta‘s translation to be much better than what I can do (I only did marginally better than Google Translate,) so I mostly used it here. He has a lot of videos for various Portuguese songs (whether they’re from Portugal, Brasil, or Mocambique.)

Português

Composição: Fred Ala, Ive Mendes

Não posso mais lutar
Contra o que sinto
Se sinto o que penso
Você está sempre comigo…

Não posso mais mentir
Eu tinha muito medo
Agora sei que eu te quero
Com certeza…

Eu não vou fugir
Dessa vez não
Eu decidi te amar assim
Eu não vou fingir
Dessa vez não
I don’t wanna go
You know I love you…

Eu quero te dizer
Que este amor é mais forte
Do que todo o orgulho
Que ainda existe em mim…

Ainda quero te falar
Que sou outra pessoa
Depois que conheci
Este amor…

Eu não vou fugir
Dessa vez não
Eu decidi te amar assim
Eu não vou fingir
Dessa vez não
I don’t wanna go
I know I love you…

Eu decidi…
Te amar…

Eu não vou fugir
Dessa vez não
Eu decidi te amar assim
Eu não vou fingir
Dessa vez não
I don’t wanna go
You know I love you
I don’t wanna go
You know I love you
Eu decidi te amar assim
I don’t wanna go
You know I love you
Eu decidi te amar assim
Te amar!

English

Composition: Fred Ala, Ive Mendes

I cannot fight anymore
Against what I feel
If I feel what I think
You are always with me

I cannot lie any longer
I was very afraid
Now I know that I love you
For sure

I am not going to avoid
That chance, no
I have decided
To therefore love you
I am not going to pretend
About this chance, no
I don’t want to go.
You know I love you.

I want to tell you
That this love is stronger
Than all the arrogance
That still exists in me

I also want to tell you
That I am another person
After I was aware of
This love

I am not going to avoid
That chance, no
I have decided
To therefore love you
I am not going to pretend
About this chance, no
I don’t want to go.
I know I love you.

I have decided…
To love…

I am not going to avoid
That chance, no
I have decided
To therefore love you
I am not going to pretend
About this chance, no
I don’t want to go.
I know I love you.
I don’t wanna go
You know I love you
I have decided
To therefore love you
I don’t wanna go
You know I love you
I have decided
To therefore love you
To love!

Leave a Reply

