I checked my NaNoWriMo account today.

(CAVEAT: This is another exercise at free-writing. Please excuse the messy grammar, the non-linearity of my thoughts, as well as any confusing clauses.)

I’m not sure why I did that. In a previous blog post, I mentioned that I attempted NaNoWriMo on November 2014. Predictably, I was unable to meet the 50,000-word challenge.

It was only then that I realised that I had put off on logging Camp NaNoWriMo stats. It turns out I won all Camp NaNoWriMo attempts I’ve started so far. I didn’t make OMEN and Casa Macoto strictly for it, but setting an arbitrary word count goal for myself (which I based off the FAQ on determining word counts for non-novel projects) assisted in making me churn out more content. I still divided my totals by three, however, since the real count seemed too large (even for the amount of time I spent into the stories.)

Operation May was also not made with Camp NaNoWriMo in mind (it began on March and ended on May,) but it’s probably my most ambitious creative work so far (spanning three different websites and multiple media used to illustrate the interactive story.)

If I had more time in my hands, I would continue to write anonymous plots. I would not have had as much motivation to finish these stories that have floated in my head for years, otherwise.

The important thing about writing anonymous plots is not to do it for fame, but rather, to present your story — to pour your heart out to the audience, no matter how big or small. (For instance, I have never sent messages to more than 100 recipients, mostly due to point and time constraints, but seeing my small audience help each other with the puzzles made me very happy. I am also very grateful to the people who communicated with my characters and didn’t get completely weirded out by the interaction!)

Oops, I went into quite the tangent there.

Casa Macoto is far from completed, for example. Since it’s a prequel for OMEN in a more dysjointed format (it’s made up of conversations, documentation, and snippets obtained from the Hiiragi Juutaku,) I don’t have a set date of completion for it.

After inputting relevant information for OpMay, OMEN, and Casa Macoto, I realised precisely why I wanted to open my NaNoWriMo account. I wanted to make a formal attempt for the month of July. It won’t be an easy task, since my licensure examinations fall on the beginning of the month’s latter half. At the very least, writing will be a relatively productive reprieve from studying.

I have two choices in mind so far, for July’s Camp NaNoWriMo. I can either complete (hopefully) and edit the novellisation of Operation May, or creatively present core concepts of Katzung’s Pharmacology. The latter appeals to me slightly more (even if I do intend to finish novellisation of OpMay) since it will also help me review for the licensure exams, in a way. I’m not quite sure presenting it in the point of view of pharmacy students in a review class will be appealing for the average reader, but I can try to work around that.

Leave a Reply

