Maysa – Quiet Fire

Oh, Maysa Leak. I’ve fallen in love with your vocals even before I knew you were, in fact, female. I first heard her voice in Incognito’s “Beneath the Surface,” a song I’ve loved since I was around 6 or 7. It’s still one of my favourite Incognito songs, to date.

I knew about Maysa’s album “Blue Velvet Soul” since it was first released, and I felt sad that I couldn’t find a physical copy in my country. Fortunately, the album is on iTunes (I love most of the songs, so I’ll probably get the entire thing as an incentive if I get a good score in out last cluster exam for pathology.

Took another look at the price, and it’ll take me a bit of saving up to do so. Ah well.

“Quiet Fire,” “Beautiful Dreamer,” and “Good Morning Sunrise” are the songs that stick out to me the most, since they showcase Maysa’s voice most beautifully.

I think I got most of the lyrics right for this song. As usual, lyrics follow below the cut!

Feelings that I can’t describe sweep through me,
Never like this have I felt before.

I don’t care who knows how good his love is,
When he lights my fire. (Ooh, baby)
Never like this have I felt before.

Feelings that I’ve never known until you,
Never like this have I felt before.

Ecstasy that makes my head go spinning,
From love’s warm desire.
Never like this have I felt before.

Chorus:
Quiet is the fire inside of me,
Quiet is the fire that you can see.
Quiet is the fire you’ve set in me,
Quiet is the fire and it just won’t let it be.

Baby, hold me close to you,
Ooh, feels so good.
Never like this have I felt before.

Feelings that defy control run through me (run through me,)
Set my soul on fire.
Never like this have I felt before,
Never like this have I felt before.

(Repeat Chorus)

Leave a Reply

